Rather Alarming

Agghhhh! Do you ever have days when you feel… well… dumb? I had just such a moment this morning.

I went for a run (I know, kudos to me) and came back to discover that the police had been at mi casa. Michael was sitting on the couch waiting for me, much worried about my safety. You see, I apparently neglected to close our front door all the way when I set out for my jog, setting off our alarm system and summoning our friendly neighborhood police. Since I did not have my cell phone with me on the run, no one could get in touch with me to figure out what the heck was going on.

Incidentally, I also set off the alarm Monday morning when leaving for a run. That time, at least, I noticed (although not in time to stop the alarm from sounding) and was able to call our alarm company and stop the process.

This would probably not have been a huge deal, but our neighborhood has some rather urban tendencies. In the last year, someone has stolen: the propane tank off of our grill, my favorite flower and flowerpot (who does that?!?!), and knocked over our mailbox. We are also pretty certain we’ve seen drug deals go down during evening strolls, and the police park their car semi-permanently at the corner market a few blocks down the street.

Oh well. At least they didn’t have to go very far when checking up on our house.

Leave a Reply

