Friendship is a sheltering tree

We stayed up until 3 in the morning. We went hiking and looked at pretty mountains. We grilled out. We played with the world’s cutest puppy. Basically, what I’m trying to say is: this weekend was perfect.

Everyone thinks their friends are the best. I’m really lucky, because my friends actually are The Best. And Friday, two of them came to see me!

Melissa, Joy, and I have been friends since high school. Even writing high school is a big deal for me because, you have to understand, I was homeschooled from 2nd through 10th grade. And then, after a summer of anticipation about my first year in real school since I was 6, I found out two weeks before the start of fall term that my family was moving from Sylacauga, AL (so small we don’t even have a movie theater) to Tuscaloosa, AL (home of my extended family and the much-hated U of A*****). Change of plans.

Joy was one of the first people I met at my new place of education, a private Christian school with only about 30 people in our class. She was, and still is, one of the kindest, friendliest, and funniest people I have ever known. The kindness part is pretty obvious, as Joy still decided to become my friend even after my parents made her come over for a family dinner/interrogation before they would let me hang out with her. (Strict, much?)

Melissa was the smartest girl in school, and she has always taken really good care of her more, ahem, impetuous friends (such as myself). I probably would have lost half of my personal belongings during high school if she had not made sure that I didn’t leave my purse and car keys laying around for anyone to pick up. She is caring, wise, considerate, and loyal.

I am so thankful for these friends and am so blessed to have them in my life.

About to get on The Incline. Love being a tourist in my own town!

Chattanooga from Lookout Mountain.

Joy’s intense face.

She was looking so intense because she is trying to figure out how to fire this cannon.

Love it!

Mel, contemplative.

Joy almost stole Bella (my in-laws’ puppy) and took her back to Birmingham.


Love these girls!

Leave a Reply

