Technicolor Dream Kitchen

So, parents, you’ve already seen our house via Skype video tour but hopefully these photos give you a clearer view. For anyone else who’s interested… well, here it is!

Our kitchen is lined with bright blue, retro kitchen cabinets. At first I kind of hated it but I’ve slowly grown accustomed to the color and now actually like it. If nothing else, our kitchen is cheery. Which is a good thing in a city where gray days are the norm.

The view from the living/dining area. I love that our kitchen has a big window and is full of light.

On the left is our oven, stacked on top of our microwave. Out kitchen is a good size for Asia but counter space is still an issue. Michael tried to toss out our oven this morning when the door fell off (ahem, again)–knocking my coffee cup over and spilling coffee all over the kitchen–but look, there it is, still holding on! Hurray! I keep worrying that our microwave will catch on fire someday from all the heat emanating from the oven perched on top of it but I’m not sure where else or how else to arrange things while preserving enough counter space for mixing bowls and rolling out pastries and doughs. So far nothing bad has happened. Let’s hope that stays true.

The kitchen sink. There’s no dish washer, thus the drying rack on the right. Most days, I don’t miss having a dishwasher that much (remind me of that the next time the sink is filled with dishes for two days straight–yes, that happens). Somehow, washing dishes is a soothing and calming activity to me.

On the left is our water tong, where we get all of our fresh water for drinking and cooking since the local water is unclean. The tongs run out every couple of weeks and we just reorder them from a friendly local shopkeeper down the street. He loads up a couple on his motorcycle and then carries them up the four flights of stairs for us. It’s really a great system and I don’t even think of how unusual it must seem compared to America–the only problem comes when you don’t realize you’ve run out of fresh water until the last minute and then have to wait for TG (our friend the shopkeeper) to get here. Sometimes it’s fast… sometimes it’s more like an hour. I guess that’s how you learn, though, right?

Oh, and the candles on the window sill. I filled up a couple of glass vases with beans and then stuck some candles inside. I like it–but every time I cook with Asian friends they are so confused as to why I decided to do this instead of just eating the beans like you are supposed to. I’ve tried to explain that in America it’s not that unusual to use edible items like coffee beans/nuts/etc. for decorating… but the weird looks just continue. I have to admit that they really are right. It is odd. How did that whole trend get started, anyway? (That doesn’t mean I’m getting rid of my bean/candle arrangement anytime soon, by the way.)

Leave a Reply

