He Is Risen

He is risen indeed!

Although I have always loved Christmas first and most and really with all I had, these last few years I have found myself cheating on Christmas, just a little, with Easter.

And why not? As Tim Keller says, Easter proves that Christmas was real. Without the resurrection, there’s no point to anything else. Honestly, why even bother? But–glorious, joyous, happy news–it is real and for this reason we have hope. And that’s why, this morning and every day (although I so easily forget), my heart sings (think of Keith Green here, if you know who that is) Alleluia!

So, amen. Alleluia. He is risen! Happy Easter, or as they say here, Happy Resurrection Day!

Which brings me to the day itself. It’s already basically over for us here but it was one of the best ever.

We got dressed up. Which is very, very rare for life here.

We spent the day with dear friends.

QingQing has a lamb costume, hand knit by Valerie.

QingQing hated–I mean really, really hated–the lamb costume. But we–well, we loved it with all our heart and soul.

Owens wore a pink pastel shirt and matching pink bunny years. (It’s Year of the Rabbit. That means there’s bunny stuff everywhere. Gotta take advantage of that ish for Easter.)

Ummm, Michael and I rocked our sunglasses. And just in case you can’t tell, I’m rocking the bunny ears.

Sarah, putting the finishing touches on our fabulous Easter dinner.

The spread. Sarah and I went a little bit crazy with the decoration–don’t worry I took lots of pictures, but I will have to save those for another day.

And, our friend Andrew, with his sun hat and bouquet. This made me happy.

Happy Easter to you and much love coming your way from the Far East!!!

2 Comments on “He Is Risen”

  1. Amy Boyter says:

    I loved the comment about Keith Green… Joel introduced me when we got married and, yeah, we jammed to a couple songs on Easter to help celebrate! 🙂

  2. […] It was fun, but we (por supuesto) missed our families. And these guys, Qingers not least among them. Love to all! Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]


Leave a Reply

