Our Digs

Do you get a kick out of spying on other people’s houses?

Good, me too.

Just in case you were curious, here are some more pictures of what our lives this year have looked like. And thus, our apartment.

This is our office/study/library area, where we  waste time on our computers. The desk is a really awesome double desk, which someone who lived in this house before us (not sure who but I bet it was Kelly) found in a local junk market. On the wall we’ve framed a map of where we live with buttons marking spots we’ve already visited and spots we want to see. Someday.

Our bedroom.

We got these wood carvings a few weeks after we moved back to Asia. I love them–a lot of our house is decorated in a really Western style for several reasons, one being that’s what I tend toward and the other being that was what the foreigners who lived in our house before left behind. But these wood carvings are typically and traditionally Asian, and they make me happy.

Across from our bed. These frames are actually intended for use by art students who would stretch canvas across them for watercolors and oils. (There is probably a one-word description of that process but I am not artsy and have no idea!)  But without the canvases they were really cheap-like 50 cents apiece–and I had some extra white fabric so I stapled the fabric to the back and put some of our wedding photos on them. I have tons of these frames with various fabric backings scattered throughout our house, used both as picture frames and bulletin boards (see the “office” photo above).

This might be my favorite spot in our entire house. The view is ah-ma-zing and I love coming here to drink my morning coffee, to have a QT, or to waste more time on my computer. (There is way too much of that going on here, apparently.)

Also, you can just see the dehumidifier in this photo and in the one above. This room has a long history of mold problems (we got our landlord to repaint the bedroom because of mold when we moved in) and the humidity is apparent as we generally empty the dehumidifier twice a day. Oh well; these are the things you figure out and coping isn’t a problem once you know the issue at hand.

Anyway, this is my nook. Don’t you wish you could spend your mornings staring out at the Asian city skyline?

3 Comments on “Our Digs”

  1. Meredith Gaston Stuart says:

    I love seeing yall’s place! Rush lived there last year and it does my heart so much good to know that it has finally been done some justice! 🙂 It looks great Beth! Oh, and I kind of blog stalk you… China home-sickness I guess.

  2. thegregs says:

    Hey Meredith! Love the blog stalking… last year I totally blog-stalked all the CQ people. 🙂 We have loved BB and we have loved this apartment. It is awesome! Heard y’all are coming back soon-ish, can’t wait!!

  3. […] a long way from done, but the two teensy elements of time and money have held me back. While last year our bedroom was a light blue color, this year we painted it green. It’s a bit more minty than […]


Leave a Reply

