(re)Settling

I didn’t mention on the blog that we’ve moved, did I? Well, um, yes, we’ve moved. Not so far, just about an hour down the road to a new part of town.

There are some major pluses to our new place, the one we’re most excited about being the bathroom. It’s glorious. A real tub that doesn’t leak water all over the floor every time you use it, no naked lady tiles (a prominent feature in our old place), and, best of all, brand new plumbing that’s strong enough to let us flush our toilet paper. That’s right, we couldn’t flush TP in the old place. Had to toss it in the trash. Ewww…. I promise it’s just as gross as it sounds.

Anyway, the last several days have been busy with moving and cleaning and trying to figure out the new area where we live. Moving is an interesting beast wherever you live but, in my completely impartial opinion, it’s even more of an “adventure” overseas. Although we can speak the language, we’re still not fluent and the dictionary never gives exact equivalents for things like wood stain (spent three hours this morning hunting that down–even once you know how to say it, of course it’s only available in a different part of town). And I can’t find simple things, like a dish drying rack, anywhere close to home probably because I just don’t know where to look.

Things take longer. And that’s OK. It’s just a matter of adjusting expectations and remembering that this is not my country and no one else is playing by my rules. Which in some aspects is a good thing because, as I’m regularly reminded by everyone–moving guys, random workers, you name it–the rules in my country lead to out-of-control spending and living standards well beyond my means. (“Americans just love to swipe-swipe-swipe those credit cards,” one guy told me today.) Thanks for noticing, guys. I feel the same.

3 Comments on “(re)Settling”

  1. Haley says:

    So glad you guys are settled in your new place Beth! I can only imagine how glorious the new bathroom is. I screamed when I saw Anna Mo’s and just kept saying, “I feel like I’m in Manhattan!” I can’t wait to see your new place! Miss you and can’t wait to see you soon!

  2. Anna Uzzell says:

    i want to see pictures!!!


Leave a Reply

