Monday as Saturday

After an unexpectedly eventful weekend, I spent Monday doing as I pleased. Today, that meant crafting.

Our bedroom has been sloooowly making progress since we moved here in August. It’s nothing fancy and I’m a long way from done, but the two teensy elements of time and money have held me back. While last year our bedroom was a light blue color, this year we painted it green. It’s a bit more minty than I had envisioned, but I think my main objective–somewhere calm and soothing to fall asleep–was met.

Here’s my before: an ugly and plain sandy wooden headboard. When we moved in, our landlord promised to provide bed frames and mattresses for us, and they did. Truly, we’re thankful–I just sometimes wish it was a bit more aesthetically pleasing.

So that’s what I did today. I made it pleasing, to me, if no one else. I covered our headboard with fabric and accented with rope.

We live near an art school, so I stopped by our local art supply store and bought the cheapest canvas they had. It looks similar to painter’s drop cloth, but not quite as rough to the touch. Benefit of living in Asia: $6.64 for 3 meters of fabric. The rope: less than $5.

It still looks a bit wrinkled, but I’m really happy with the finished project, slightly sloppy as it may be.

And, although I didn’t do this today, I thought I’d show you our over the bed decor. A quote from a Mumford & Sons song: “Love that will not betray you, dismay or enslave you, it will set you free.” It only took me six months to get around to this simple project… hopefully the rest of our room will fall in place a bit more quickly.



Leave a comment