Not too bad

If you talk to me even semi-regularly, if you read this blog, if you’ve ever live in our part of the world, you’ve heard me (and others) whine about the weather and the pollution.

This is not a post about that.

Earlier this week, Michael and I and some friends took a get-away to another part of our city, one outside and above the smog. Our destination, although only three or four hours away, had blue skies, dry air, and crisp mountain temperatures. It was lovely, and we were thankful to get away for a few days.

This couple was just in front of us along the path for much of the way. Americans, I think, are weird about photos compared to the rest of the world. Because Asians loooove to cheese it up for their close-ups. We’ve see our fair share of Europeans on this side of the world, too, and Asians have nothing on them when it comes to staged photos (hello, awkward SI style beach photo shoots in Thailand!). I just don’t get it. But I guess I don’t have to.

With my friend Cat, who I’m so thankful to have in my life this year!

Some years ago, a kung fu epic was filmed here, so this spot is famous in this part of the world. I mean, I’d make a kung fu movie here–it sure looks the part.

As happens everywhere we go, little Noah attracted quite the crowd. American babies are probably more loved, admired, and photographed than movie stars over here. It’s sweet and kind and says a lot about the value that this culture places on children. It also makes you sympathetic for actual movie stars who have to deal with paparazzi and thronging crowds. Being the center of this much attention is exhausting!

Thankfully, Noah was distracted from his stardom by downing (almost) a whole can of Pringles. Get it!

Requisite family photo!

Some pretty fabulous feet…

…and some pretty fabulous friends!  (Excuse my artsiness, I was just really excited about the above photo.)

Thankful for beauty which refreshes my soul.

And thankful for this guy to enjoy it with!

3 Comments on “Not too bad”

  1. johnwgunter says:

    Great post and pics. . . wish I had been with you guys!

  2. Joel says:

    Hi Beth & Michael,

    Awesome pictures, incredible beauty. To think that that’s all sustained by the word of the faithful one–wow! I’m so deeply glad you guys were able to enjoy that respite and receive some refreshment from your work. Hope you’re continuing to learn more Chinese!

    Joel

  3. thegregs says:

    Joel, hope you are well!! It was truly beautiful and we’re thankful we had the opportunity to enjoy it.


Leave a Reply

