Snips and snails and puppy dog tails

That’s what little boys are made of.

We’ll find out soon enough, for little Baby Greg is a boy! We’re thrilled, and knowing that we’re (90% sure to) have a little boy makes everything seem more real.

ChalkBoard_20130112-150022

Boys are par for the course in the Gregory fam: Michael is the middle of three boys and his older brother and his wife have three boys, capped off with one girl. For me, though, boys are foreign territory. In my maternal line there hasn’t been a little boy in probably a hundred years, as I’m the oldest of four girls, my mom is one of two sisters and her mom is one of two girls, and not one boy to be found in the bunch. Even my dad is the only boy in his family and grew up with two younger sisters. I can’t wait but I’ve truthfully no idea what to do with a baby boy…. although truth be told, I don’t know much about raising humans, period. I guess we’re about to find out!

Our families in the States had this feeling it was going to be a girl (well, except for my mom), but our friends here are not even a little surprised. I think I had one Asian friend tell me she thought it was a girl, compared to about 15 guesses for boy. Most based it on a feeling or the way I look, but several also said it was a boy because of what I’ve been eating (sour and salty, not spicy), which I think is the same way people guess in America.

We’re just grateful we got the chance to find out what baby is–because of the one-child policy and a strong cultural preference for a son, the birth ratio here has been skewed in favor of boys for years now. As a part of the government’s attempt to normalize the birth ratio, ultrasounds to determine gender are illegal for locals. However, because we are foreigners and our doctor is also a foreigner who is not worried we would abort if it was a girl, we were able to sidestep the regulations.

We truly could not be more excited about baby boy Greg. I feel overwhelmed with gratitude and thankfulness every single day, and am just so.darn.happy. about this amazing gift with which God has blessed us. So thankful to think that in just a few more short months we will actually have a tiny son.

My heart is full. All is grace.

 

 

5 Comments on “Snips and snails and puppy dog tails”

  1. ally says:

    What fantastically exciting news! We cannot wait to meet this little boy. We find out our baby’s gender in two weeks, and I cannot wait. So fun to pray for our babies by name.

  2. Sarah says:

    I am so excited for you all! Our doctor thinks ours is a boy, too. We will find out for sure Valentines day. And how exciting for your family to have a little boy to love on! I am also excited I found your blog again! I completely forgot you had one and I love to read blogs, especially for you all that we don’t see! Ok I’ll quit rambling! See you guys this summer!

  3. Haley says:

    Oh YAY!!!! He is so faithful. Can’t help but think about our long walks on the beach this time last year, and all that He has done since then. Such a great reminder of His goodness in who He is & all that He does- including His timing. I hope you guys have a wonderful vacation! Miss & love you and SO wish I was there with you!!!

  4. thegregs says:

    Sweet friends–thank you guys so much! I really love each of you and am so thankful for your sharing our joy in this time. Allison and Sarah, we are praying for you guys babies and for y’all! And Haley, I think of you every day as I miss my walk buddy. So wish you were here but I am lifting you up and am thankful for your encouragement every step of the way!

  5. […] that time we found out we were having a boy? Not so fast. Turns out, even in this digital age, doctors are still fallible and sometimes get it […]


Leave a Reply

