Come to me

Run to him.

Arms open, body worn, heart rent.

The last month has brought upon our family, quite suddenly, a season of unexpected change. Where we live and how we spend our days are up in the air. I know that I am not defined by these outer characteristics, but in my heart, I sometimes feel as if who I am is being called into question. My heart is anxious, and my hands are busy.

In the midst of turmoil and uncertainty, what does it mean to observe the Sabbath? When your to-do list is linked with a ticking clock and there’s no escaping the tyranny of what must be done, how do you rest?

IMG_0714 - Version 2This one, at least, doesn’t seem to have any problems relaxing.

The dictionary defines Sabbath as a “special day of prayer and rest.” There’s value in that, in withdrawing and setting aside, in making space each week for respite. But to simply pause our activities is not, I believe, what we are asked to do. We are called to so much more.

In this time of uncertainty, Jesus tells me that true Sabbath rest is found in him. Again and again throughout the Gospels, he reminds Pharisees and disciples alike that Sabbath rules are not Lord of him, but that he–the Christ–is Lord of the Sabbath. (See Luke 6:1-11) He does not cease to do good or to care for the needy just because it is the prescribed day of rest, but he shows that true rest comes when we turn to him.

Should we rest? Yes and amen. But that rest must consist of turning from self and turning to him. In this time, for me at least, Sabbath rest means not less than ceasing my “deadly doing,” but much more.

28 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

Matt. 11:28-29

 

 

3 Comments on “Come to me”

  1. Oh, I feel for you! Those times when the heart is anxious, the hands are so, so busy, when uncertainty and change lurk just around the corner, these are such hard times. And yes, how does one Sabbath in the midst of that?

    I love how you define Sabbath as a turning to him. That’s exactly it. Praying that for you, for me, for all of us. So glad you joined us at The Grove.

    • thegregs says:

      Thank you for praying–I feel like I especially need it! So excited to have found Velvet Ashes, and grateful for your encouragement.

  2. Malia says:

    You’re absolutely right. ❤ If we turn away from our to-do lists but fail to face Jesus' open arms, we're only making things worse. Rest is only found in the Lord of the Sabbath, and I pray you'll be strengthened and affirmed by Him in this busy time of transition.


Leave a Reply

